Even though you were yawning, a mind was cleared.

Posted on March 21, 2007

5


I believe I originally heard this idea from Steve Pavlina. The idea that there is no such thing as the “best” decision; there are only good decisions. He proposed the idea of not focusing so much on the “best” situation to be in, but to choose or be in a good situation and then go from there.

Silence set in shortly on the phone. I had too much on my mind, and he was only half awake.

“What if there is no such thing as an ideal situation?”
Another beat.
“I don’t believe there is such thing as an ideal.”
“But we live as though it exists.”

We all live with these little idyllic lives in our heads and we chase them and spend our mind and anxiousness on them… And for what?

That isn’t the point. Granted, you can’t go off and make reckless decisions and expect your life to turn out right… But life is so much less ours than we think. We spend our deepest emotions fighting for the lives that don’t belong to us anyways. I’m realizing that we are not supposed to fit the purpose of life into the boxes of our own lives, but to mold our lives around our true purpose.

“Is there anything else you have been pondering?”
“No, not really. Although this idea is so huge it takes up most of the space.”
“Mmhmm.”
“Though, I am thinking about leaving.”
“Leaving…just to leave?”
“No, not to leave. To go.”

We wait too long. Too long to leave, too long to act, too long to speak. We wait until we feel like we are prepared… But how many died metaphysically and literally while we wait to feel adequate? How many souls run dry and whither while we quibble over the smallest things? We are so sick from anxiousness we try to keep the saliva from dripping out of our mouths and yet we fail to carry out the one task we were given as living things on this crippled rock we live on.

The ones that create change are the ones that take action when the problem needs to be addressed. The ones that get up and move. The only reason I ever wanted to be a nomad is because maybe that way I could shed the skin of aimless living and really drown myself in the true reason for life.

“I wonder why we even bother.”
“With?”
“With… Celebrities, popularity, corporate ladders, political correctness…”

“I have come to the realization that life is more than what I have accomplished.
And life is more then the realization that we have accomplished nothing at all.
True success is so selfless so drown in the lyrics of your life and give up the air that you breathe.
You don’t need anything.”

(Who Needs Air – The Classic Crime)

We’ve gone about this whole idea of living completely in the wrong way. We’ve missed the point. And I’m out to live the point. And this time, I don’t care what that costs.

