“Dont rush, but hurry up and wait.”

Posted on March 25, 2007

0


The interesting thing about being human is that we are constantly changing. We are always bettering ourselves, worsening our lives, or fighting to find the balance of life. There never is a point where we can say, “I have arrived.”

On one hand this is nice, but on the other hand it can sometimes leave one feeling broken and worthless. Almost like, “I’ll never be fixed.” Perhaps not so extreme? Maybe it’s just a lingering feeling of being in transition.

That’s what I’ve been feeling over the past few days. Just noticing the seasons of transitions, the different time periods of various events… The seasons of growing. Even the seasons of pain that eventually build a stronger person.

It is the conversation I wish I could forget.

“Please Deanna, I really need to know what you’re thinking right now.”
“Well… You’re getting married. I can’t do anything about that.”

Then the deep voice spoke three words:
Yes you can.”

I am aware that there are some things that only time can heal. And perhaps eventually those words and his voice will fade… I just need to learn to be patient and keep seeking the face of God.

All I can do now is reach up towards the ceiling and learn to pray that I am built through the pain; that every day becomes a medicine of sorts.

In the words of The Fray, “don’t rush, but hurry up and wait.”

