Seriously?

Posted on January 8, 2008

1


How can you not love life when you run into conversations like these?

Most of last week we had below-zero degree weather. This weekend we had a sudden jump in temperature to nearly sixty.

Today around 1:30pm I was at Jimmy John’s waiting on the other side of the counter for my sandwich. As my sandwich was being made the guy behind the counter starts the conversation with a smirk.

“So how’s this for global warming? I woke up this morning and didn’t have to scrape ice off my car!”

Later that day we left Dairy Queen and, my sister, having just gone through driver’s ed, was being a passenger-seat driver. She mentioned my stopping a few inches past the line of a stop sign. “They count that as if you ran the stop sign,” she said.

When I was almost to the next stop sign I said, “Think fast!” and pressed the brakes harder than usual. I came to a complete stop just behind the stop sign.

My sister, ice-cream cone in hand, said:

“If my face had gone into my ice-cream cone, yours would have too.”

