“I’m in love with anything that’s alive.”

Posted on March 22, 2008

3


I didn’t used to cry during movies. It took a lot for me to even near that point, and only one or two movies had claimed the title of pushing me over that point.

But all that’s changed now.

I’ve allowed the characters to start reaching through the screen and touching the deepest chords of my heart. Or maybe the roots and flowers in my heart have broken through the concrete shell. Or I’ve finally found the way to let the well overflow.

Either way it’s movies like In America and Bella that contain moments of such beauty, and self-less love, and community that I just want to sink into my chair and drown in a puddle of my own tears.

I want those things so much for this world. I want that for the people of Amsterdam; the ones that seek for love and hope in everything but find it in nothing. I want it for my own town; a place that seems to be either asleep or dying, and whose people desperately need true community and authenticity. I want it for my family. I want it for the strangers I pass everyday.

I know we all want it to an extent and maybe I’m just one more person saying all this, but there’s so much opportunity around us that I barely know where to start.

I just know that when I look back on my life I want to be able to see that I at the very least tried. Tried to bring beauty, love, hope, and community to wherever I am in life.

Oh. Maybe I do know where to start.

Tomorrow is a place to start.

Posted in: Uncategorized