Obama and McCain need a Kit-Kat bar from the American People

Posted on September 26, 2008

1


“Gimme a break, gimme a break, break me off a piece of that kit-kat bar!”

I’m not a political blogger and I generally steer away from conversations about politics with most people.

But, I would like to say one thing. One! That’s it!

Disagree with me, that’s fine. Your vote is your own and my vote is mine.

I’m not sure who I’m voting for yet, but this current predicament has me annoyed.

We are staring in the face of a financial crisis that could send us headlong into another Great Depression overnight.

And people say that because McCain is suspending the campaign for a time being to help find a solution to this problem, that he is running away? Or that this is a political move?

Are you kidding me?

He is first and foremost fulfilling his duty as a senator in Washington. Our country is on the brink of disaster and he is going back to D.C. to be one of the ones to help move us away from the edge.

And Obama? Wants to keep the debates going?

Yes, I want to see the debates. Hearing our candidates’ side on issues is extremely important because I need to know what these men actually feel about important issues.

But I wouldn’t mind them delaying the debates a week or two so we can get this problem on Wall Street fixed.

If it’s really a matter between hearing the debates or our country imploding?

I say get back to Washington.

NOW.

I would rather see both candidates give up their campaigns and debates for a week or two. That shows commitment to this country beyond the marketing ploys and campaign promises. That shows me that they can stop focusing for the polls for a moment and fulfill their duties as senators and do exactly what we elected them to do and help our country in the middle of this crisis.

I would hope whoever becomes the next president has the dedication to this country to do what he or she is supposed to do as a legislative official in America’s time of need.

And if you don’t think this is a time of need, I don’t think you understand the severe impact that this financial squall could cause.

So for heaven’s sake, can you give ALL FOUR vice and presidental candidates a break and let them do what they need to do to protect us and our country?

I admire McCain for stepping up and putting the marketing aside.

I really admire Obama for wanting to deliver what the American people are starving for: information, perspective and hope.

I’m not elevating McCain and I’m not bashing Obama. Because really, at this point, my vote could go for either candidate.

I just want the average American to have some perspective and quit giving our politians so much slack when they have the weight of the impending disaster on their shoulders and votes.

