Weather/Whether, Pt. 1

Posted on January 5, 2009

2


For weeks the actuaries and weathermen have seen tiny anomalies and inconsistencies in weather patterns across the country. After devoting massive amounts of attention and prediction to these little stochastic occurrences, they predicted the exact date, time, and location of where all of the anomalies would come to a head and wreak havoc.

Not even the weather stations could tell you how all of these elements would come together. No one knew what a literal, perfect storm would look like. They just knew it was coming.

They started fortifying people inside stadiums, conference centers, and sports arenas. They sold tickets starting a $300 a seat. It was protection, and not everyone could cough up that kind of money even if it meant life or death at the time. But those who did buy tickets, at least if the weather was violent, they’d die slower than everyone else if they were in something more girded than a house.

It was supposed to begin at 3:30pm on a Saturday afternoon, and the epicenter being the town next door to my hometown.

2:45pm

I was traveling home from out of state on that day and just made it home in time. I still had to pack my belongings, but even if I didn’t, I still wouldn’t have enough time to get over to the stadium where my parents and sister had a $300 seat with my name on it. I texted a sarcastic remark about it off to my sister. Something along the lines of: “Awesome. Even if I don’t pack I don’t have time to get there. Sorry. I’ll be at the house.”

2:56pm

I plopped down onto my bed and tried reading for about ten minutes. That didn’t work. I couldn’t concentrate. Too much anxiety. Instead, I opted to hang out in the brightly lit kitchen and play a shoot-’em-up video game on the tv in the corner. I played standing up and paced the room inbetween levels and kept an eye on the backyard visible through the huge window on the other side of the room.

3:02pm

We lived a few acres in front of a mountain. The rest of the land was flat with almost no trees to speak of. Only grass for miles. I was walking around the kitchen inbetween levels of the video game. I looked out the window again. Just the mountain, lots of grass, and the sun, which was hanging to the right of the mountain. No clouds in sight. It was a perfect blue afternoon.

3:03pm

I was playing the video game when the light in the room suddenly decreased without warning.

It had started early.

(To be continued.)

Posted in: weather