Seize the Fish

Posted on July 19, 2011

0


This weekend has not been so fun. Friday was my husband’s birthday, which was the good thing. The bad thing was that there was an opportunity so close for us that I could taste it. I figured that all that was (really) left in the decision process was just to stop and get the celebratory champagne on the way home. But then it all fell through on Saturday morning. It’s probably better this way, but all I could think was that it was my fault for getting my hopes up. If I had just kept a lid on it, removed attachment to the situation everything would have been okay. I’m not being vague to be artistic–I just don’t feel like talking about it.

Friday evening I took my husband out for a surprise dinner at Fuddruckers with all our close friends, which was a blast. We got to see a couple of people that we haven’t seen since Christmastime and the burgers were fantastic as usual. The only problem was is that I didn’t plan properly. It seems like Summer itself took so long to get here that all my mental planning space was thrown off when I got back from our summer vacation over the 4th of July and realized I had less than a week and a half to pull something together for his birthday. The plan was to go to dinner and then see Harry Potter 7. Dinner was at 5:30 PM and the earliest showing for HP7 was at 10:20 PM. A few days before the event I checked the movie times again and several more showings had appeared and so I selected a 7:30 PM. Two full hours for dinner? No problem. I however forgot to account for a couple of things.

(1) Dinner with friends always seems to go longer than planned. Time flys when you’re having fun, I got it. So, we got there at 5:45 PM, got our food by 6:15 PM, and with all our talking, 7:00 PM was there in no time. No time to talk.

(2) The showing for Harry Potter that I picked was the first major evening showing after the opening midnight showing. This means that everyone who either couldn’t make it to the midnight showing or was too geeky for a midnight showing was at the showing I picked. I didn’t account for waiting in line/arriving early for busy movies. I also didn’t account for the 20 minutes it takes to get to the theatre.

So not only have botched the timing for dinner, I’ve also botched the timing for the movie. As a result, we barely found two seats together for ourselves, and the three people that joined us for the movie were left to their own devices to find remaining seats. This mostly caused me anxiety. I try not to get anxious and bent out of shape to the point where I can’t sit still until I make someone fix my problem, because that always irritates me in people. But I still get anxious and mentally guilt myself.

Friday night comes and goes, got nervous about the whole said opportunity, went to bed, and Saturday morning rolls around. Opportunity falls through. I spend most of the rest of the morning brooding and feeling sad for myself. Later than afternoon we went to go see the house that my parents just signed a lease for. They are moving a few miles away to a house that fits them better and one that is not on the dirt road that has peeved them since day one of living there.

The house is absolutely beautiful. It’s spacious, wood floors, and a large deck that leads out to a backyard that is right on a canal into a major lake. It was a strange experience because on one hand I was feeling sad and couldn’t quite take everything in, and on the other hand it just felt like I was walking in a stranger’s house. It won’t really mean anything besides feeling like a house hunting trip until I can see my parents’ furniture and possessions in the house. I’m attached to the house they are leaving in some ways. I grew up in that house. But it’s weird because when I go back into my old room I feel nothing. I loved my outrageously colored walls, but it didn’t feel like the shelter it did when I was in my angsty teenage years where all I wanted to do was be alone. I’ll miss the house for sure. I’ll probably write up some memories I had while there, but I feel like it’s time for everyone in my family to move on. The house was good to us and now it’s time to open the next chapters in our lives that are just waiting for us.

The house my parents are moving to doesn’t allow pets, so my dog officially moved in with us. He helped with a lot of the cheering up of my mopey self.

Saturday night we went to The Union Woodshop right around the corner from my house with a bunch of friends because one of my good friends, Drew, is off to Virginia until late this year. It was nice. It was really nice to get together for some good food, good wine, and let the yammering section of my brain calm down for a while and really enjoy being with the people I love.

It was a nice close to a little bit of a roller coaster weekend. After coming back from vacation I relish being back to normal life, so going back to work after a weekend is definitely not bad at all, but Mondays for whatever reason just seem to be grouchy. I think Monday and The Universe had a big fight a while back and they still haven’t sorted things out so we all get to feel the awkward tension when they’re in the room together.

In all this I just have to remind myself that tomorrow is a new day. It’s cliche, but I really appreciate waking up to a relatively blank slate every morning. It gives me a chance to get it together and to make sure Tuesday isn’t as ridiculous as the last four days have been.

“Carpe diem? Seize the day. Carpe carpe? Seize the fish.” – Riley Bowen

