The One About Dreamy

Posted on July 28, 2009

2


“I’m usually not a fan of Tim Burton’s style, but for Alice in Wonderland (03/05/10) it seems about as appropriate as appropriate gets. And I’m quite excited. I will be officially annoyed if it’s takes a Narnia turn and becomes one of those loved books that was made to be really pretty but strayed so far from the book that I feel like destroying the DVD in an Office Space manner.”

I posted the previous paragraph on Facebook as my status and within minutes one of my friends, Tim, commented, “I’ll take this as a rave review for Narnia. Maybe I should actually see it now.” My first thought is, Not exactly. That might be a bad idea. I’ve never had good experiences with Naria.

For Prince Caspian, I went to see it with my sister and boyfriend. I then proceeded to make the mistake of sitting between them. My sister and I and my boyfriend and I have vastly different methods of movie-going. My sister and I go to movies and either heckle the characters through the entire movie. My boyfriend? No talking. Even when we watch TV together the only way I can ask questions or make a comment is when there is no dialogue going on and I’m quick about it. If I get too talkative or start asking too many questions, he loving pats me on the head which I know is a nice way of telling me to be quiet. So, you can imagine what it would have been like to be with both of these parties at a movie at the same time.

For the The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe, the situation was entirely different. At the time, the previously mentioned Tim and I were together. We were together for about two months, and sometime during the said two months I went to go see the first Narnia movie with some of my acting friends. One of my dearest friends, Kate, organized this. We went with a group of about fifteen. We sat in the third to top row; I was sitting two seats in from the aisle and Kate was sitting on my right.

Kenny, a blond curly haired college guy who embodied the description of “dreamy” was going to be late and asked that we hold a seat for him. This seat was next to me. The last time I had seen Kenny was three weeks prior, he had a girlfriend named Sam. In a wee corner of my brain, I thought Oh, wouldn’t it be funny if he was single now and tried to hold my hand or something? Haha.

So, the previews come on, the movie started, and Dreamy came in and sat down in the empty seat next to me shortly thereafter. During one of the scenes in the White Witch’s home, I felt something on my pinky finger. I glanced down and there was Dreamy’s finger trying to weasel its way around mine.

I froze.

And why did I freeze?

BECAUSE MY “WOULDN’T IT BE FUNNY IF” THOUGHT CAME TRUE.

That’s not supposed to happen! What was he doing? Didn’t he know Tim and I were together? Didn’t he have a girlfriend? What would possess him to try to hold my hand during the movie? Why did my innocent funny thought actually happen? I didn’t want it to happen, I just thought it would be funny if it did happen. This isn’t right. What in the world is going on here? WHY IS HE STILL HOLDING ONTO MY PINKY FINGER?

Finally my nervous system kicked into gear and pulled my hand away. I then, still weirded out, leaned over to Kate and nonchalantly whispered to her:

“So um… Doesn’t Kenny have a girlfriend?”
“He did, but they broke up a week or two ago.”
“Oh.”
“Why?”

I explained what was going on. She said: “Don’t worry, I’ll talk to him.”

The movie ended. Kenny stepped out into the aisle and I followed, but Kate grabbed the sleeve of his shirt and pulled him back behind me. As we’re going down the steps, and all she had to say was, “Yeah um, you know Tim?”

If I ever watch another Narnia film, it will be a rental.